Romania in FAIR

Romania signed the FAIR Convention on 4 October 2010 in Wiesbaden and declared its contribution to the FAIR construction to be 11.8 M€.

Since 2008, The Romanian National Authority for Scientific Research (ANCS) financed the RO-FAIR project, in support to the FP7 Project "FAIR Preparatory Phase" to which Romania was part. RO-FAIR created a Committee for the Romanian participation to FAIR which became operational in 2008. The role of the Committee was to coordinate the actions of different institutions (research, education, industry) involved in the FAIR project and to ensure the intercommunication between them and with the FAIR organisms. As a result of these concerted actions, Romania signed in August 2010 the Founding Act of the FAIR Company.

Presently, the activity of the Committee is coordinated by ANCS and its chairmanship is ensured by Prof. N. V. Zamfir, General Director of IFIN-HH.

The Romanian shareholder is the National Authority for Scientific Research which is represented in the FAIR Council by Mr. Ionel Andrei, General Director.

Romanian representatives to FAIR:

AFC (Administrative and Finance Committee):

Ms. Lucia Csavar, csavar(at), Economics Director, National Authority for Scientific Research

Ms. Raluca Stoicea, ralucas(at), Head of Human Resources Department, IFIN-HH

Mr. Alexandru Popescu, alex(at), Economics Director, IFIN-HH

IKAB (In-kind Review Board):

Dr. Livius Trache, livius.trache(at), IFIN-HH

Scientific Council of FAIR GmbH:

Prof. N. V. Zamfir, General Director of IFIN-HH


Ms. Anca Ghinescu
Director for European Integration and International Cooperation
National Authority for Scientific Research
E-Mail: anca.ghinescu(at)

Mr. Alexandru Popescu
Economics Director
E-Mail: alex(at)

To top

Romanian research groups are members of the following FAIR collaborations:

Funding agency:

Ministry for National Education


  • ICPE-CA National Institute for R&D in Electrical Engineering
  • ICSI National Research and Development Institute for Cryogenics and Isotopic Technologies
  • IFIN-HH Horia Hulubei National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering
  • INFLPR National Institute for Laser, Plasma & Radiation Physics
  • ISS Institute for Space Sciences
  • UB-FF Faculty of Physics, University of Bucharest
  • UPB Polytechnical University of Bucharest
(c) 2017 FAIR
  •  Home|
  • Contact